Accessibility

We believe that our Big Stories, Up Close should be accessible to everyone and offer the services listed below.

Patrons wishing to make reservations for any special performance or take advantage of any accessibility service may contact Accessibility Coordinator Erica Foster directly at 773-761-4477 x703 or access@lifelinetheatre.com, or in person at the Lifeline Box Office (6912 N. Glenwood Ave.) Monday-Friday from 9am to 5pm.

SERVICES FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE BLIND OR HAVE LOW VISION

•  Curb-to-seat assistance on request
•  Large print and audio format programs on request
•  Pre-show touch tours and audio-described performances for selected dates:
MainStage Productions
Whose Body?
Saturday, September 28, 2019 — 2:30pm touch tour, 4pm performance
Middle Passage
Saturday, February 29, 2020 — 2:30pm touch tour, 4pm performance
LOKI, The End of the World Tour
Sunday, June 28, 2020 — 2:30pm touch tour, 4pm performance
KidSeries Productions
Lyle, Lyle, Crocodile
Sunday, October 27, 2019 — 10am touch tour, 11am performance
Bunny’s Book Club
Saturday, January 18, 2020 — 10am touch tour, 11am performance
Neither
Sunday, March 29, 2020 — 10am touch tour, 11am performance

A touch tour is a chance to visit the set, feel the props and costumes, and meet the characters before the performance. Audio description is a live commentary by trained describers, interspersed with the actors’ dialogue. 

SERVICES FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE DEAF OR HARD-OF-HEARING

•  Complimentary assistive listening devices on request
•  Open-captioned performances for selected dates:
MainStage Productions
Whose Body?
Sunday, September 29, 2019 — 4pm performance
Friday, October 25, 2019 — 7:30pm performance
Middle Passage
Sunday March 1, 2020 — 4pm performance
Friday, March 27, 2020 — 7:30pm performance
LOKI, The End of the World Tour
Saturday, June 27, 2020 — 4pm performance
Friday, July 10, 2020 — 7:30pm performance
KidSeries Productions
Lyle, Lyle, Crocodile
Saturday, October 26, 2019 — 11am and 1pm performances
Bunny’s Book Club
Sunday, January 19, 2020 — 11am and 1pm performances
Neither
Saturday, March 28, 2020 — 11am and 1pm performances

Open captioning is a service for people with any level of hearing loss, featuring a text display of the words and sounds heard during a production.

SERVICES FOR PEOPLE WITH SOCIAL AND/OR COGNITIVE DISABILITIES

•  Autism/sensory-friendly performances for selected dates:
KidSeries Productions
Lyle, Lyle, Crocodile
Sunday, November 1, 2019 — 3pm performance
Bunny’s Book Club
Saturday, February 1, 2020 — 3pm performance
Neither
Sunday, April 19, 2019 — 3pm performance

Autism/sensory-friendly performances are relaxed and sensory-friendly theatre experiences designed to be more accessible to those individuals on the autism spectrum or to others with cognitive/developmental disabilities.

  Special thanks to Theatre Development Fund‘s Autism Theatre Initiative for service as an advisor.

SERVICES FOR PEOPLE WITH MOBILITY DISABILITIES

•  Wheelchair accessible seating and seats without stairs in our theatre
•  An accessible parking space in front of the theatre, available with advance request

The tallest step in our seating area is 91/2“. Our seats are 173/8” wide, 18″ deep, and 161/2” tall.